We’ve Got the Green Light!

At its July 3 regular session meeting, ACC's Mayor and Commission voted to give us the go-ahead to create Boulevard Woods. 

 Specifically, they voted to:

 1. Designate the main parcel–the 1.79 acre parcel at 298 Barber Street–for use as a passive park;

 2. Approve our concept plan for the park.

 3. Authorize staff to develop a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with Boulevard Neighborhood Association (BNA) to allow us to build and provide ongoing maintenance for a park;

 4. Authorized installation of a crosswalk across Barber Street; and 

 5. Authorized the Mayor and ACC staff to execute the MOU, after approval by the county manager and attorney.

What this means is once we've got the MOU ironed out–a process that will take some time and involve approval by both ACC staff and BNA–we'll be able to start fundraising for the project. And if we raise the money we need (including donations of labor and materials), we can finally start building Boulevard Woods. 

The commission vote was 8-to-1 to give us the go-ahead.  

We owe big thanks to Mayor Denson and many Commissioners–including particularly Commissioners Girtz and Maxwell, and Commissioners Bailey, Hamby and Hoard. Commissioners Herod, Sims and Robinson deserve our thanks as well. They voted to give us the green light. Commissioner Kinman was absent, but had expressed support. And Commissioner Lowry, who voted against, did so for understandable reasons. He wasn't against the park, but wanted more commission-level oversight.

Please take a moment to thank Mayor Denson and your commissioners. 

We also owe thanks to many ACC staff–particularly those in Leisure Services, the Landscape Division–who helped answer questions and offered advice, and to Athens Land Trust, who have agreed to be our partners in fundraising.

Finally–and very importantly–we owe our thanks and respectfulness to our park's nearest neighbors, especially Mrs. Tennie Brookins and her mother Ida Mae Griffin. 

Getting the green light is a huge step forward, but the real work is just beginning. 

 

Boulevard Woods Vote is Today!

Hi Everyone:

The Mayor and Commission is voting on Boulevard Woods today. (Starting at 7 p.m. Tuesday, July 3 at City Hall.) 

With the July 4 holiday coming up lots of folks are out of town, but we still need to show strong support for our park at the City Hall. So, if you're in town and can do so, please come to the Mayor and Commission meeting. Plan to say a few words in support or just bring yourself and your good luck.  

If you haven't done so yet, please send the Mayor and your Commissioners an email urging them to support Boulevard Woods. 

For talking points about Boulevard Woods, scroll down to the previous post or go here.

Thanks!

Mayor and Commissioner Email Addresses

Mayor Nancy Denson nancy.denson@athensclarkecounty.com

District 1–Doug Lowry doug.lowry@athensclarkecounty.com

District 2–Harry Sims harry.sims@athensclarkecounty.com

District 3–George Maxwell george.maxwell@athensclarkecounty.com

District 4–Alice Kinman alice.kinman@athensclarkecounty.com

District 5–Jared Bailey jared.bailey@athensclarkecounty.com

District 6–Ed Robinson ed.robinson@athensclarkecounty.com

District 7–Kathy Hoard kathy.hoard@athensclarkecounty.com

District 8–Andy Herod andy.herod@athensclarkecounty.com

District 9–Kelly Girtz kelly.girtz@athensclarkecounty.com

District 10–Mike Hamby mike.hamby@athensclarkecounty.com